Shirley S. Abrahamson, JD
Chief Justice
Wisconsin Supreme Court

Hoover Adger, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Johns Hopkins Hospital

Steven Belenko, PhD
Department of Criminal Justice
Temple University

Richard C. Boldt, JD
Associate Dean and Professor of Law
University of Maryland

Richard J. Bonnie, JD
Co-Chair, Board of Directors, PLNDP
John S. Battle Professor of Law
University of Virginia School of Law

Kathleen Brady, MD, PhD
Professor and Director
Clinical Neuroscience Division
Medical University of South Carolina

Arthur L. Burnett, Sr., JD
Senior Judge
National Executive Director
National African American Drug Policy Coalition
Howard University School of Law Center for Drug Abuse Research

Brian Chodrow
Highway Safety Specialist
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Heidi L. Coleman
Chief, Impaired Driving Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration


Gloria Danziger, JD
Senior Fellow
Center for Families, Children and the Courts
School of Law, University of Baltimore

William F. Dressel, JD
The National Judicial College

Susan E. Foster
VP and Director of Policy Research
The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University

Martha Grace, JD
Chief Justice
Massachusetts Juvenile Court

Mary R. Haack, PhD, RN
University of Maryland School of Nursing

George D. Lundberg, MD, ScD
Co-Chair, Board of Directors, PLNDP
Editor-in-Chief, Medscape General Medicine
WebMD Corporation

Douglas B. Marlowe, JD, PhD
Director of Law & Ethics Research
Treatment Research Institute at the
University of Pennsylvania

Laura Burney Nissen, PhD
Reclaiming Futures

Barbara J. Rothstein, JD
Director, Federal Judicial Center

Carol Shapiro
Executive Director
Family Justice

Faye S. Taxman, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Wilder School of Govt & Public Affairs

The members of the Justice Education Advisory Committee reviewed this report. Additional individuals who graciously reviewed early versions of this report:

John Femino, MD, President, Meadows Edge Recovery Center, Rhode Island.

Dwyane Simpson, PhD, Director of the Institute of Behavioral Research (IBR) and the S.B. Sells Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Addiction Research at Texas Christian University

Their work and comments are greatly

We would like to thank our partners
at The National Judicial College:
Judge William Dressel
Melody Luetkehans
Program Attorney
Robin Wosje
Chief Academic Officer